The Sad Truth: Reading and Wisdom Tooth Extraction

Well, it’s been too long since I’ve taken the time to sit down and write. It’s also been too long since I’ve read anything.

Why? Because I got four wisdom teeth extracted. Not having done the recommended thing and had this out of the way at an age under 25, I was convinced that it would go very, very, badly.

It didn’t go that badly. But I’m still supremely happy that I will never have to do it again. There’s nothing pleasant about removing teeth with deep-set roots. Really, there isn’t.

Anyway, it was this that put a huge blank in my usually constant reading habits.

I had envisaged sitting up in bed, or on the couch, in relative comfort thanks to painkillers and reading book after book. I even went and bought some ‘getting better’  books for the occasion.

(They weren’t anything to do with recovering from surgery, they were just books I felt a pull towards. I figured that they might seem special to this event, in an ah, these are the books that got me through it way, if I read them while I couldn’t do much else.)

I didn’t read one. Not one. This is the sad truth.

I’m not sure if it was the painkillers, or a side-effect of general anaesthesia, but I lost the ability to concentrate enough to read.

This, I must say, was pretty awful. So, my new books sat unread and I sat on the couch marathon-watching Gilmore Girls. While I can’t claim it was as good as reading peacefully while my swollen face slowly turned into a bruised face, it was very enjoyable.

So, why am I writing this for my words about other words? Well, I wanted to write about the first thing I’ve been able to read with any sense of clarity since this sad blank-period. But, it didn’t feel right to skip the context.

Moving on.

This morning, while I sipped the first coffee I’ve been able to drink in a week, I read The Whippet. This is a wonderful newsletter, written by McKinley Valentine, which brings together an array of articles that always – always – leaves me feeling informed, amused and intrigued.

McKinley’s discussion of superstition and coins made me feel less alone. I’m so relieved that other people have these feelings/suspicions/theories about what it means to either pick up or leave a coin you find on the ground.

I, for one, tend to lean towards the this coin is a sign of good fortune and if I leave it there I may well piss-off the universe way of thinking.

For some reason, I’ve never thrown a coin into a fountain, but the idea that this action is one of connection is fascinating to me. I may well think more about this.

Unsolicited advice is a topic I have thought and opined on many times and, much like my feelings about the coins and superstition topic, I am so pleased to realise that I’m not alone.

When someone foists advice upon you without invitation, it’s difficult not to feel unconsidered, marginalised, or belittled. And, it’s very difficult to keep liking that person as much as you did before they chimed in with advice that is, as McKinley puts it, “first-page-google advice”.

I like that this topic was covered. I like it very much.

There’s so much in The Whippet this week (like every week, actually) that I couldn’t possibly write about every topic that’s included. Just, you know, go read it. Even if you haven’t had a reading-drought, you’re sure to get something from it. I did, I must point out, like this publication before I got those troublesome teeth out.

The Whippet was extra welcome this morning. And, there’s a comic in there about drawing turtles! It’s not to be missed.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

