The End of Fringe

Capture.PNG

Well, it’s happened. Fringe World is over for another year. It had to be this way, I know, but there is now somewhat of a void in my life.

I saw over 50 performances and would have liked to write about more of them. It turns out that so many shows in four weeks – and the late nights that follow them – make for a time-poor existence.

What’s that? You think I could, or should, still write about them? Well, I see where you’re coming from.

But, unlike some unscrupulous writers out there (there has to be at least one), I don’t think it’s entirely ethical to publish a review that’s based on a jumble of stale memories. Fresh – for want of a much better expression – is best.

So, to make up for it, I thought I would make note of the stand-out shows that I would have written about had time been kinder.

  • iOTA in The Average Joe
  • Matt Stewart – Pretty Dry
  • I Wish I Owned A Hotel For Dogs
  • Glittery Clittery: A ConSENSUAL Party
  • Frehd the Clown: Stripped Bare
  • Tessa Waters: Fully Sik
  • Parlour Games
  • Gillian English is A Bitter Shrew
  • PO PO MO CO
  • Tomás Ford’s CHASE
  • David Quirk – Cowboy Mouth
  • La Petite Merde
  • HYDE – the final statement of Dr Jekyll
  • Daniel Nils Roberts: The Causeway
  • Cat FM

Ranging from stand-up comedy to theatre, with many others in-between (including shows that delivered a mashup of several genres), all of these performances were immensely enjoyable for many different reasons.

If you’re curious, you can still look shows up on the website. Maybe you’ll find something worth looking out for in 2018.

It’s anticlimactic, I know, but that’s it for the Fringe World topic this year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

